National Lakeshores

There are now three national lakeshores in the United States. Each is located on the Great Lakes. Two are located on the south shore of Lake Superior and the other is located on the shores of Lake Michigan.

In 1966, Congress approved the creation of national lakeshores at Pictured Rocks in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and Indiana Dunes in Northeastern Indiana. In 1970, Congress passed legislation to approve national lakeshores at Apostle Islands in Wisconsin and Sleeping Bear Dunes near Traverse City, Michigan.

Indiana Dunes is the smallest national lakeshore or seashore at 15,000 acres. It was redesignated as the 61st national park in 2019.

Apostle Islands National Lakeshore

Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore

Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore